Young Booze Busters


Drugs can usually be divided into 7 categories based on their main effects:

Stimulants, Depressants, Opioids, Empathogens, Dissociatives, Psychedelics, and Cannabinoids

Some drugs are well known and have been around for years while others are new and less is known about them.

Under the Misuse of Drugs Act (1971) illegal drugs are placed into 3 classes – A, B, or C.

This is based on the harms they cause either to the person using them or to society when they are misused.

The Psychoactive Substances Act came into effect on 26 May 2016 meaning that Psychoactive Substances not covered by the Misuse of Drugs Act (1971) are illegal to produce, supply or import.